Announcing our 2017 BE More Scholarship Winners!

By Jessica Bivins, October 11, 2017, Charity & Community, News

At Bounce Energy, we pride ourselves on being more than just a Texas energy company. With competitive electricity rates, convenient products and services, customer rewards programs and charitable activities,  we are more to our customers than just their electricity provider.

We care about the people we serve, and we know that there are countless young Texans who make a difference in their communities every day. We want to recognize them for their hard work and dedication and support them as they pursue their college degrees. The recipients of our “BE More” scholarship have gone above and beyond in showing us and their communities that they are more than just students.

This year, we received over 1,300 applications from college students who are doing great things in their communities. Although it was difficult to choose, we picked three amazing young Texans to be our scholarship winners:

  1. Brooke Lopez from Wylie, Texas
  2. Owen Theeck from Cypress, Texas
  3. Pranshu Adhikari from Austin, Texas

Read on to learn more about these remarkable students:

Brooke Lopez


Announcing our 2017 BE More Scholarship Winners! | Bounce Energy Blog

Brooke’s veteran father is the foundation of her desire to serve her community. After student violence in her community led to the tragic deaths of two of her classmates, Brooke was moved to take action within the local government of her hometown, Wylie, Texas. She began her involvement in the city government by proposing a bill which would eliminate a minor’s privilege to clear their record when they turn 18 if they were charged with a violent crime involving a firearm. She continued serving her city by running for city council at the age of 18 and was appointed to the City of Wylie Public Arts Advisory Board as the youngest and only current  Latin-American representative in her local government.


 Owen Theeck

Announcing our 2017 BE More Scholarship Winners! | Bounce Energy Blog

Owen is a member of NASA HUNCH (High Schools United with NASA to Create Hardware), where students design and create technology for NASA and other aerospace companies worldwide, such as Boeing and Lockheed Martin. His major achievements have been assignments from the International Space Station: he created a tool to aid maintenance aboard the station, and also designed a device used to transport various products – such as a biomedical 3D printer – into space.


Pranshu Adhikari

Announcing our 2017 BE More Scholarship Winners! | Bounce Energy Blog

Born and raised in Nepal, Pranshu saw many young people struggle to attend school due to financial hardship and familial obligations. When her family moved to the United States, she and her brother started the nonprofit Little Steps for a Brighter Future (LSBF) to reduce the number of school dropouts in Nepal by providing monetary scholarships for school supplies and fees. The siblings combined their allowances to help seven students in the first year of starting the nonprofit. Since then, the organization has grown to partner with the Irving Leadership Program, helping more than 200 students in Nepal stay in school.

Thank you to everyone who applied for our 2017 Bounce Energy “BE More” Scholarship. We were inspired by the stories of so many Texan students who are giving back to their communities. We wish you luck in your future endeavors and success in attaining your college degrees.

Congratulations to our winners, and keep an eye out for the 2018 “Be More” Scholarship!

Be Sociable, Share!

Related Posts


Comments are closed.